Ways of Letting Go

I am learning to let go and trust the flow of life.  It is the only way I can step fully into my Work.  Letting go ego’s control, and surrendering to Source/God/the Universe is a theme showing up in my life these days.

Letting Go of That Fifty-Pound Rock

I am addicted to planning.  My habitual focus has been, “What do I need to do now to make sure I’m okay in the future?”  I need to make enough money to buy food next week and pay rent next month, and put some in savings for special situations down the road.  I need to schedule my life.  (My schedule book is consulted several times a day.)

This is not unusual; it is a mindset of our culture.  We save for retirement, plan a vacation next summer, and buy insurance.  Earning money, using a schedule, and buying insurance are useful for functioning in society.  I bring them up because they represent a need to control what will happen.

Asara Lovejoy describes surrender as like putting down the fifty-pound rock that’s been carried all one’s life.  It may make things a lot easier, but it sure feels strange.  Asara teaches the One Command, an awesomely effective process for reprogramming belief that we can have what we are wanting to create in our lives.  Core to the process is the statement, “I don’t know how…” (this thing will happen) (CommandingWealth.com).

By surrendering control over how the experience or thing I want comes to me, I open myself to all the possibilities in the universe that little me didn’t think of.  Most likely, one of the universe’s infinite possibilities will be even more effective than my few choices.

Letting Go of Having

Recently, I took a lymphatic massage class, which included “lymphaticizing,” or clearing clutter from, one’s home.  Karen Kingston’s Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui was reading for the class, and inspiration for me.  I learned that I don’t need to keep papers (or other items) that are no longer useful, have negative associations, and/or someone else thought they would be useful but I don’t.  I had kept those things because I thought I might need them someday – or at least was supposed to need them someday.  It was refreshing to let go of them all!

Stuart Wilde takes even further this idea of letting stuff go.  In Infinite Self, he describes the mindset of not owning anything – even one’s body.  It’s all energy in transition, here with me – or you – for a while, and at some point it’ll be time to let go.

In this mindset, if I were to come home to find the stereo missing, I would say, “Ah, they’ve come for the stereo.”  I would know that the stereo, which I had for a time, has now gone back to God-Source – and now I have space for something else.

This lets me release a lot of responsibility.  I don’t need to hold on to all these things in my life.  They will come and go, and what I need will always be available in Source Energy.

Letting Go of Intellectual Knowing

This one builds upon my first point, putting down that fifty-pound rock of intellectually controlling the future.

In preparing my Connections in Nature workshops, I’ve been exploring perception and our understanding of what we feel.  When we perceive, a lot happens in a fraction of a second.  A stimulus comes through one or more senses, and immediately is interpreted through our understanding of the world.  Culture, education, values and personal experience are a few of the filters that act here.  Still within a fraction of a second, thoughts and emotions about the perception come up.  Finally, there’s a strategy – how we’re going to respond to that perception.  Most of the time, we react without being conscious of this process.  We see a person in front of us and before we know it, we are smiling or shouting at them.

What I’m playing with – on my own and in my workshop – is slowing down and attempting to catch the body’s response before all the processing.  I’ve found this is a way to access intuition – a way of knowing that goes beyond intellect and draws from source.

“Ah, They’ve Come for the Rock!”

I’m enjoying witnessing this journey of letting go.  I’m seeing my sense of struggle decrease and an increase in my trust that I am taken care of.

It’s amazing how much more space I have for creation, when I’m not carrying a fifty pound rock of impending doom that constantly warns, “If you don’t do ____, your future will fall apart!”  The voice hasn’t completely left yet; I still have at least fifteen pounds of it.  It’ll be nice to come home one day and exclaim, “Ah, they’ve come for the rock!”

Leave a comment

Filed under allowing, conscious intention, letting go, prosperity, receiving, spiritual path

Leave a Reply

