What Really Matters

It has been a while since I last posted.  In the last few weeks I started a management position, and the transition to a new level of accountability felt huge for some time.   I’ve gradually gotten used to this new level of being – of holding space for other people to stretch and grow and be their best and shine.  And I find that it serves me even better to be this bigger being who I already was, who was waiting in the wings.

Sometimes I think this being a manager thing, or whatever it is that Megumi is (I am) up to in the moment, is about my glory.  Or about my getting to heal my childhood wounds.  And it is, to the degree that my cup doth not run over until it is first full.  I receive acknowledgement and love so I can joyfully and naturally pass on acknowledgement and love to others.  I love finding myself witnessing and holding up the people around me.  I love this because what really matters to me is to nurture communities that nurture each of us to live more fully.

This evening, I watched a series of short films created by the Global Oneness Project.  It is a beautiful project: to create conversation and connection through videos of people who are creating positive change, and/or asking questions that inspire global consciousness.  The videos are freely distributed (not for money), and can be viewed and ordered (yes, for free) on the Global Oneness Project website.

These videos turned my attention to what really matters.  I nearly cried to see former gang members wearing “Barrio de Paz” (Peace Town) T-shirts.  In this video, youth leader Nelsa Libertad Curbelo Cora explains that gangs aren’t inherently delinquent, and only band together for love and structure.

My cup was filled again by the words of Jayesh Patel, founder of the Indian NGO Manav Sadhna, and personification of humble service.   His reminder to “be a ladder, not a ‘leader'” re-presenced my intention in being a leader: not to collect glory for myself, but to be of service so others can climb to an expanded way of being.

This series of videos reminds me that what really matters, what really makes us prosperous, what really brings joy and peace and love, is to be in alignment with our values and mission.

1 Comment

Filed under global consciousness, leadership, Prosperity Consciousness

One response to “What Really Matters

  1. Elsa Gomez

    Hello, is this a new layout I see? I have been checking back here continuously since I first found out about it and I must say how much I enjoy it and love reading your posts. Your words are inspiring for me and I appreciate finding new way to connect with both myself and you through the messages that you share.

    Love to you,
    Elsa

Leave a Reply

